Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - TV Shows (3) - Books (2)

Forbidden Love review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 9 November 2012 06:09 (A review of Forbidden Love )

his show is extremely beautiful, I watched it for like two years and I never got bored not even once, it's a beautiful and a very sad show and I'm not just referring to the ending which was really sad by the way.

The show is about Bihter, a very beautiful young woman who hated her mother so much because she was cheating on her father which led to his death, so she decided to get even with her mother by marring the man her mother wanted for herself (she stole him from her mother; well, I wouldn't call it stealing as the man never thought about the mother he only had the daughter in mind, but yes technically she did steal him) The man's name was Adnan and he was way older than her. Anyway, that man has a family; a daughter and a son and he also has Behlül his nephew (well..his not actually his nephew, he's a long distance relative, he calls Adnan 'uncle' as Adnan raised him since he lost his parents in an accident). Behlül is a fine gorgeous guy who spends his nights in clubs with girls, that's actually all what he does, he likes to show off a lot (if I might say). Bihter and Behlül hated each other since the first episode for two reasons; the first one cause he dated her sister and blew her off like he usually does with all the girls, and the second reason was because she hated the way he's living his life (as a spoiled boy), as for him, well.. she's not his type ... or that's what he thought at first.

Anyway, the story really began after the marriage of Bihter and Adnan, as Bihter moved in Adnan's house, so she was officially living under the same roof as Behlül (things could happen!! people change!!!.... yes they do) ....yup, we all saw that coming, all that hatred between Bihter and Behlül just turned into this forbidden passionate love story that no one knew about except them and us (the viewers I mean)) .......this relation had its ups and downs, had jealousy plus there was always a reason for them to get caught but it never happened and they kept on cheating and cheating all the people around them; Adnan and the rest of the family. It wasn't something they were proud of but they couldn't help it they were madly in love and drawn into each other hopelessly.

The relation continued but the servants started to be aware of this relationship and other few people did too, anyway let's skip to the ending, Bihter committed suicide in the last episode (What an episode it was!!!!) I cried my eyes out, not to mention Behlül who spent a whole day grieving over her tombstone crying and crying unstoppably, even though it was such a dramatic finale but it was realistic, they wouldn't pull this through anyway (I mean the relationship), ethically this is 'sin' written allover it. Though their love was deep and real, it did hurt a lot of people at the end, indeed.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

1001 Nights review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 9 November 2012 06:08 (A review of 1001 Nights)

Şehrazat Evliyaoğlu, a talented architect who works in Binyapı, a construction company owned by Onur Aksal and Kerem İnceoğlu. She is the mother of a five-year old boy who suffers from leukemia and needs an urgent and very expensive surgery.

Onur Aksal is a successful businessman and Şehrazat desperately tries to find ways to borrow the money she needs for her son’s very costly surgery, a bone marrow transplant. Only her boss Onur, who is secretly attracted to her, is willing to give her the money on condition that she spends one night with him.

Will she accept the offer and how far will she go to save her son’s life? That and many more questions are asked and answered in this riveting love story.



I mean, this whole show revolves around these two trying to come to terms with a conscious decision they both made to spend one night together. To some, this might not be a problem. I mean we have entered a 21st Century for Heaven’s sake! It’s a one night stand with a rich dude, hopefully a great lover, and plus you get the money to save your kid! Get over it! Oh, and let’s not forget, the rich dude falls in love with you! Can this be any easier? Apparently not as we get to see how hard it is for both of these characters to come to terms with it. To better understand them we slowly get to know both through their family and friends as well as the way they interact with each other.

Scheherazade is a twenty-six year old widow, successful architect, and a mother of a five-year old boy. Inorder for us to understand this complex woman and why she does things, we need to know that at 12 years of age she loses her mother, at 19 her father and at 24 her husband whom she married against his family’s wishes. To make things even worse, shortly after her husband dies, she finds out that her son might die as he’s diagnosed with Leukemia. Life has not been kind to this woman, and in order for her to cope with everyday life, she pours all her love and attention to her son.

Scenes between the son and the mother are just heartbreaking. I found myself shedding a lot of tears while watching those and plenty of others as well. Also,

we get to understand the reasons behind decision to keep the existence of her son a secret from her superiors. It was an unwritten rule for many companies to pass on hiring women with children in a misguided notion that such employees would devote less time to their work. It was a very common thing in the work environment and she could not risk it. The first time we meet her, she’s late for work and the reason was because she was with her son. Onur, her boss, was not a pleased man and tried to embarrass her in front of her coworkers, even though she was the one to win the bid of their project in Dubai.

Through all three seasons we watch her make her decisions on a lot of issues, based on her past. She just could not bring herself to trust anyone but herself. After the Black Night, as she’d begun to call the night that she sold herself to Onur, she thought herself a whore. She used that excuse to push him away on many occasions even though she fell in love with him.

And then we meet Onur. What a piece of work our hero turned out to be. It’s been awhile since we met such a complex human specimen. He’s ALL THAT, and more! In his mid thirties, Onur has lived a charmed life, or we think it at the start of the story. We do get to learn a lot about him through his mother, his best friend Karem and various other professional people he gets in contact with. He also lost his father when he was 12 and the way that his father passed shows us a bit about why he doesn’t trust women. His mother adores him and has always been possessive of him and his time. His friend seems always in a competition with him on both professional and personal front. They both fall for Scheherazade and neither is willing to admit the fact, at the beginning.

However, after Onur spends that night with her, he knows that there’s no going back. He knows that he loves her, that the desire he feels for her is not just a passing fancy and that now he must work very hard to show her that love, so he starts courting her. Down the line we finally find out the reason for his jealousy and trust issues in women. Apparently, he caught his betrothed with another man in his bed, in his house, a week before the wedding. From that point on, women were not to be trusted and not to be loved, just used. Until he met Scheherazade.

Through three seasons of this show, we follow their love as it progresses from one night stand into an epic tale of love, betrayal and heartache. We also meet her In-Laws, his Mother, their best friends and their families, coworkers and we get to see many, many scenes of Istanbul and Turkey that I never thought I’d ever see. What a wonderful background Istanbul made!

Kudos to casting directors for casting the parts of Onur and Scheherazade with Halit Ergenç and Bergüzar Korel who I found out married in the second season. Tardu Flordun and Ceyda Düvenci were wonderful as Kerem and Bennu. There are many secondary characters that were so much the part of the story that we loved to hate some, and others just loved. I have to also give credit to the director Kudret Sabanci who was just amazing. Here are just a few scenes that I’ll never forget:

The scene in which they enter a hotel room on that night is one of the sexiest I’ve ever seen, and we don’t even see them in bed! She enters behind him and as he takes the drink, she just stands still with her head lowered, her eyes glued to the floor. He puts the drink down, walks up to her hardly looking at her, and slowly, ever so slowly he raises his hands and takes her shawl off to reveal the black dress she’s wearing. Again ever so slowly he reaches to the back of her head and slides the pony tail band and reverently touches her hair. WOW! Besides feeling the sexual tension between them, we could feel the shame and the desire.

The scene in which Onur proposes marriage to her takes place in a very posh, upscale restaurant that he bought out for the evening and had it decorated all in white, with soft lighting and a classical three-piece orchestra playing in the background. He knows that she’s skittish and so the approach he takes is that of honesty as he says this:
“You know better than I the story of Shah Sheharyar where he says ‘Friend, do not trust women’ . It takes Scheherazade Thousand and One Night to tell Shah Sheharyar her stories and at the end she saves herself as well as all the women. Together we spent one night, but that one night is for me longer than thousand and one. Scheherazade, I know if I spent thousand and one nights on my knees and begged your forgiveness, I would never atone for it in my heart. Every night that I’m alone I think of only one thing: How can I erase that night from your memory. Will You Marry Me? Please, do not hurry with your answer. I am afraid that it would be No. In order to get the answer that my heart wants to hear, I will be patient. For you to say Yes, I will wait thousand and One Night because I love you. I have never said those words with fire that burns within my heart. You have entered my soul, I feel you all around me, and you are the very breath I take. I wondered for a while what gift of my affection I can offer to you. No precious jewels could ever show you how much I love you, how much I suffer for the deep hurt I brought you, and how sorry I am for hurting you. You deserve the best that this world can offer. Everything. So I gift you with a piece of my childhood.”"

With that he takes out of his pocket a small warned out toy of a horse and slowly pushes it toward her. She looks at it for a while and you can see it in her eyes that she’s battling herself as to what she should do and say. She never takes the horse, but tells him that she thinks it’s too soon, she needs time and to his relief she does not say No.

Every scene, and there are many, in which Onur reads the “Thousand and One Night” is a gift to us. I’ll be hearing his voice in my dreams, and seeing him ride his horse, Shah Sheharyar. It is the most impressive and soothing voice I’ve heard in a long time. The music played a major role in this series. It was beautiful and very haunting.

There’s also a scene where he just about had enough with her running away from him, so he arranges to have a business meeting where her presence is important, so after the meeting she can’t start her jeep and he offers her a ride and she acceppts. In the car they have a minor disagreement, and he abruptly stops the car and forces her to get out of it, then proceeds to drag her into the forest and pours his heart out, YET AGAIN!
“You’re right, Scheherazade. Totaly!I will NEVER forget that night! Every time I look at you, I remember the night I fell in love with you! That night brought me one more thing, and that is a lifetime of jealousy! Towards Everyone! That wil NEVER change!If ever we get back together, we WILL fight over it! Not because I don’t trust you, but because I don’t think I deserve you! I’ll be always scared to lose you! That is WHO I am! I am a man who NEVER trusted women before that night. I am a man changed by love from that night! If you can tell me you don’t love that man, then take the car keys and go!”

She does not take the keys and they stand there in the pouring rain in the middle of the forest and kiss!

The scene at the end of the series, where Scheherazade is set to wed another, and is asked the question “Will you….” And she just sits there so quiet, so afraid that once she answers it, it would be too late. You can feel her doubts…and then HE walks in, saying nothing, just solemnly looking straight at her, making her turn and then we all see what she sees. Onur, flanked on both sides and holding hands with their children, little Kaan (her son) and Lilliput (his daughter who finds him after nine years).

The look he gives her, the words really would have been too much. Onur is daring her to say Yes, daring her to deny the love and their family that only he can give her. WOW! Cried crocodile tears!

These are only a handful of scenes that have made a lasting impression on me, but there are too many to go into, least of all THE scene in which she asks him for money and he makes her an offer she really had no choice but to take. These actors were chosen so well and did an outstanding job in conveying to us the pain they both were in, the love, the desire, the chemistry was undeniable.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Fatmagül'ün Suçu Ne? review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 9 November 2012 06:06 (A review of Fatmagül'ün Suçu Ne?)

The story is mainly about Fatmagul and Kerim. Kerim who is a naive young man with profession of blacksmith from the same village of Fatmagul who is also naive and engaged to her childhood friend Mustafa They both grow together from the tragedy their lives and those people that surround them. For me this story ismore about meant to be with your love rather than that of "rape". Rape shows are written with much more given thoughts which you'll find lacking in this show however one could argue that Season 1 is somewhat closer to reality. Before the night of tragedy Kerim and Fatmagul meet 3 times (the reason why I believe it's a love story) and a particular close account makes Kerim fall in love with her at first sight (if you don't believe in love at first sight this actor Engin Akyurek will make you think twice about love at first sight) however he doesn't realise this until an event which I will not talk about but leave for you to enjoy.

The interesting part is both leads suffer from similar past: parenthood. Fatmagul is brought up by her abusive sister-in law and hence sees her marriage to Mustafa as an escape from her evil sister. You'll find that Fatmagul isn't in love with Mustafa in particular as much as she loves the idea of having her own things for the first time and her freedom to live away from her sister in law perhaps this is the reason that she falls in love with Kerim within 3 months of her tragedy,(we're never exactly told in the show when Fatmagul falls in love with Kerim but she later on hints from where the viewer can guess) a man who is much different to what she has come across before and shows her what true love and patience is and earns the right to be forgiven.Kerim whom you'll find very different from typical village men has somewhat liberal ideas and hangs around with his rich troublesome friends whenever they visit the town who will be the reason of his downfall. Even though Fatmagul is supposed to be main victim for me Kerim is the second biggest victim amongst others in the show.

Even though this show is 2 seasons the first season is the best in terms of direction to co-ordination of scenes with impressive script about hope,forgiveness, patience and curing through love but in season 2 you would want to rip your hair out as you'll have enough at one point of Fatmagul. Fatmagul becomes very cold halfway through season 2 and Kerim becomes somewhat a very weak character, always saying sorries and thanks. You'll not enjoy Fatmagul sympathizing and crying over Mustafa most of the time when Kerim is hardly ever shown love and care in return from her even when she confesses he's the only one for her and the one she loves, she only seems to show love when she has a fear of loosing him.

The script of season 2 is very confusing and has no pattern whatsoever. There are so many empty episodes with empty plots where the mainleads hardly ever have any communication. You'll find many scenes of Kerim-fatmagul badly edited or not finished whilst the character Mustafa whom I didn't like neither sympathized with and the Yasrans (the family of rapists) with the best direction, music and interesting script.In terms of acting almost everyone did an excellent job except I'm not a fan of Firat Celik who plays the role of Mustafa perhaps because he was forced on me all the time as a viewer to be liked. I wasn't Engin Akyurek fan before this show and you'll enjoy Beren Saat who is playing the role of Fatmagul most of season 1 and half of season 2 however it seems the non-sensible script in season 2 gets to her and she lacks the passion that you'll enjoy in season 1. You'll be left with wonder many times with her empty expressions what she meant but she's a beauty even when they gave her horrible make up. Funny enough Fatmagul has very good clothing and hair in season 1 when she's supposed to be suffering from her trauma but in season 2 her clothes are very miserable and this is something that the team should've paid attention to. Beren Saat is a very good actress actually one of the best in Turkey so her lack in passion in season 2 left me with bittersweet taste from her. As for Engin Akyurek well he was the reason that continued to make me watch the whole show because frankly I would've given up the show in season 2 if he wasn't giving his 100% throughout. He's a very handsome man a dark knight whose facial expressions do all the work and mark my words...you'll be jealous of his hair.

You'll like this show also because of the sizzling chemistry between Beren Saat and Engin Akyurek to the point wanting them to be together in real life.You would watch and repeat their scenes especially how Kerim gently kisses her hands throughout the show.The story left me with the thought they (Fatmagul and Kerim) were meant to be together hope it will do the same for you :).


3 comments, Reply to this entry

Water for Elephants review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 14 July 2012 12:15 (A review of Water for Elephants)

A captivating story about the fascinating world of circus.
I fell in love (and hate) with many of the characters as well. As the adventure and details of Jacob’s secret unfolds, it is impossible not to become attached to Jacob, Walter, Bobo, Rosie, Marlena.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Grimorium Verum review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 3 July 2012 02:55 (A review of Grimorium Verum)

Pretty much an interesting book from what I managed to understand. Unfortunately I only have the version in latin.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block